Jefre Cantu-Ledesma Announces New Album, Shares “Joy”


Jefre Cantu Ledesma Photo

Jefre Cantu-Ledesma returns with his third full-length venture with Mexican Summer – Tracing Back The Radiance – a slow, delicate meditation, delving far afield from the pop drenched melodies which have defined his recent efforts.

Grown from a few simple piano lines, a need for change, and an evolving process which fell somewhere between conversation, singular vision, and a wild game of exquisite corpse – Cantu-Ledesma acting as contributor, servant, and guiding force to the emerging album’s all-star cast of voices – John Also Bennett, Marilu Donavan, Chuck Johnson, Gregg Kowalsky, Mary Lattimore, David Moore, Meara O’Reilly, Jonathan Sielaff, Roger Tellier Craig, and Christopher Tignor – the culmination takes a decidedly experimental turn – a vast, ambient landscape of abstraction, texture, and tone – open space punctuated by the restrained harmonics of vibraphone, processing, flute, pedal steel, synthesizer, piano, organ, and voice.

“Joy,” the first single off the forthcoming release, is a delicate, shimmering meditation, come to life through the contributions of Jonathan Sielaff (Golden Retriever), Mary Lattimore and Marilu Donovan (LEYA). As unquestionably beautiful as it is conceptually challenging, the work opens the door to one of the most ambitious endeavors of Cantu-Ledesma’s career, and a contemplative balm for these troubling times.

Tracing Back The Radiance is available to pre-order on vinyl, cassette and digital formats. For the cassette, limited to 100 units worldwide, we’ve teamed up with Bleep, one of the world’s leading stores for independent artists + record labels, focusing on electronic music.

Pre-Order the LP/Digital

Pre-Order the Limited Cassette